Prince Caspian (2008)

I admit – I am a big fan of the books. I have always liked them, and I enjoy the sense of wonder that infuses them as well as the subtly adult treatment of larger themes. Andrew Adamson has done a pretty decent job of adapting these stories for film. Despite what many people have said the Christianity of the books is neither overt nor exclusionary – I am no Christian and yet I find nothing repellent in them, or in these wonderful adaptations. Prince Caspian is the weakest book in my opinion, and the movie tends to reproduce its faults, though director Adamson takes quite a few liberties with the plot and characters – I really don’t remember Peter being quite so petulant in the books…Even so, this is worth seeing for the fantastic battle scenes and the appearance of Reepicheep the valiant and glorious mouse.

~ by Doug Newdick on June 23, 2008.

2 Responses to “Prince Caspian (2008)”

  1. Golly- I find it suprising you consider Prince Caspian the weakest of the books. The Last Battle was atrocious imo.

  2. Yeah – point taken, but Caspian was pretty boring too. My fear is that they aren’t going to make my favourite one into a movie – The Horse’s Boy – as it was the second book and Caspian was the third. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
