Dinner at Cosa Nostra

In my opinion there is a lack of decent Italian restaurants in Wellington, especially in the mid-price range. I love Italian food, so this is a black mark on Wellington’s otherwise admirable culinary landscape. I had, however, recently heard favourable reviews of a nearby Italian restaurant, so I was pleased when a family dinner gave me the chance to try it out. Last week we went to Cosa Nostra on Tinakori Rd, in Thorndon for dinner and were pleasantly surprised – we will definitely go back!

The menu was really good – surprisingly large in fact. There wsa a large range of breads and entrees, pastas, main dishes, pizzas and an extensive dessert menu. There was a decent selection of options from each type for vegetarians (including a vegetarian main, a real rarity for Italian restaurants in my experience). The wine selection was reasonable (according to those of us who drink it). My one complaint was that there was only one Italian beer (Peroni’s Nastro Azzuro) on the menu, even though Italy does great beers and they are readily available in New Zealand.

Overall the food was very good – really tasty. Everyone enjoyed their dishes. In particular the mushrooms on polenta appetiser was fantastic – everyone remarked on it and  I had a Quattro Formaggi pizza which was very nice indeed. Most of the mains were quite large – many of them went unfinished as we had slightly over-ordered – and reasonably priced.

We all had a great time – good italian food in a good atmosphere will do that – and will definitely go back. If you are in search of good Italian food in Wellington, you should definitely check Cosa Nostra out.

~ by Doug Newdick on March 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “Dinner at Cosa Nostra”

  1. Thanks Doug – I noticed the same thing some time ago – not much for Italian, or bad Italian in Wellington. I always thought that it was a little strange.

    You might want to try “Maria Pia’s” in Thorndon – I’ve only been once, but everyone with us enjoyed it.

  2. Hi Travis – I’ve tried Maria Pia’s a couple of times. I liked it, but other people with me had mixed reactions. It is also a bit more pricy than Cosa Nostra.

Leave a Reply

 
