Disappointment in a Trireme: Captain of Rome by John Stack

I quite enjoyed John Stack’s first book: Ship of Rome. John Stack’s novels are squarely in the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow: historical novels based around ancient military history with central characters of an outsider and a sidekick. The main difference being that John Stack’s books are set in the ancient Roman navy at the time of the Punic wars.

This sequel, Captain of Rome, however was a serious disappointment. There is little character development from the previous novel, the politics seems contrived and the plot dull. It feels like he didn’t know how to develop the story of the greek captain Atticus serving in the Roman navy. Even if you enjoyed the first one, I would suggest that you look elsewhere for your historical fiction.

Advertisements

~ by Doug Newdick on April 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: