Twilight – a Review

TwilightTwilight by Stephenie Meyer
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I suppose Twilight was tolerable in a lightweight, wanted to see the end of the story sort of way. But, that is the best that can be said of it. I was challenged to read it by my cousin Louise (under the “you shouldn’t condemn it when you haven’t read it” claim – always dubious) and so during a slow reading time I picked it up and finished it. Though I found it dull (and I’m clearly not the target audience!) I did find it interesting from an over-analysing semiotics point of view: it became a game of “spot the cliche” and “spot the obvious symbolism”. The threat to one’s existence of intimacy with a vampire is a metaphor for the moral and physical danger of teen sex (especially in an age of American puritanism and HIV). The heroine is a girl who really is special in a distinctive and unusal way, which is a metaphor for sense of isolation and “special-ness” that all teenagers experience. The heroine is a literal outsider – having moved from the big city to small town America – which is a metaphor for the sense of being an outsider that many teens experience. The group of vampires who are physically and psychically different and superior are this stand in for the normal “in crowd” who are merely socially different or superior. A more detailed reading would find more of thse sorts os things I am sure – all equally banal, obvious and trite. All of which goes some way to explaining the appeal of the Twilight series for teenage girls, but not – alas – for me.

View all my reviews

~ by Doug Newdick on January 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
